View user roles (instructor)

As an instructor, you can view Möbius user roles through the Role Manager.

After accessing the Role Manager, you can select a user role to preview the details and privileges of each user role within your organization.

Each user in Möbius is assigned a system role.

System role — A user role that's assigned at the time of account creation and determines what privileges the user has in Möbius.

A user will be assigned a class role once they're enrolled into a class.

Class role — A user role that's assigned when a user enrolls into a class and only applies to the specific class that they've enrolled in.

Default user role — A user role that's ready-to-use with predefined details and privileges that comes preloaded in Möbius

The available default user roles available to most organizations are (in order of descending privileges):

  • Administrator

  • Instructor + create

  • Instructor

  • Proctor

  • Student

  • Guest

User roles are grouped into three categories based on different levels of available privileges (in order of descending privileges) within the Role Manager:

  • Administrator Roles — User roles in this category generally have full-access privileges within their organization (Exampleadministrator role).

  • Class Roles — User roles in this category generally have most privileges within a class but limited organization-wide access privileges (Exampleinstructor and instructor + create roles).

  • Student Roles — User roles in this category are limited to interaction with class content, management of their own user profile, and viewing of their own Gradebook (Examplestudent and guest roles).

Access the Role Manager

To access the Role Manager to view the user roles within your organization:

  1. Click System User Manager on the System Homepage.

  2. Click Role Manager.

  3. The default and custom roles for your organization are displayed on the Role Manager's main page. Click on a role name from the Role Manager to view the details and privileges for the selected role.

  4. A read-only summary of the details and allowed privileges is displayed for the selected role. Click OK to return to the Role Manager's main page.